In celebration of 140 years since the founding of the institution, Shafer Library has a themed homecoming display featuring materials from the University Archives. Below is a virtual exhibit to highlight these items! To view the display in person, visit the glass case behind the main doors of Shafer Library. If you are interested in an overview of the college's history, click here to visit the university's main history page.
This year's display commemorates the class of 1972 (graduated 50 years ago), as well as Dr. Richard Kern, professor emeritus of Findlay College. Watch the video below for short video on the history of Findlay College, then explore the virtual exhibit!
Articles of Incorporation and By-Laws of Findlay College (1882)
Rules of Findlay College (June 17, 1886)
Below are memorabilia from the class of 1972:
Commencement Program (June 11, 1972)
Findlay College Student Handbook (1971-1972)
The student handbook outlines the code of conduct for students attending Findlay College. It contains important information, including the academic calendar and requirements, housing regulations, and a list of college services. Click on the link below to view a page of the 1971-1972 student handbook.
Homecoming 1972
Student Directory (1971-1972)
The University of Findlay publishes a student directory each year containing the names and addresses of all current students.
Richard C. Kern was the author of many works, including the book titled Findlay College: The First Hundred Years. Published in 1984, it is a detailed history of the university's first 100 years, from its founding in 1882 until its centennial in 1982. Below are photographs of the book itself as well as other materials by Dr. Kern.
Book Cover, Findlay College: The First Hundred Years
The front cover of Dr. Kern's book features architect M. Rumbaugh's drawing of Findlay College from 1882. Rumbaugh's plans were approved by the Board of Trustees in 1882, and construction was completed in 1886.
Table of Contents
The table of contents provide an overview of what the book covers. It contains a timeline of the college's history, plus lists of significant faculty and staff members.
Autographed Page (Inside Cover)
This copy of the book is signed by the author. The inscription reads: "Regards, Dick Kern" April 6, 1984.