Research Guides: Find Government Information: Home

Introduction

Shafer Library became a selective depository for U. S. government publications in 1969. We maintain a small physical collection of government publications in print and microfiche formats. Access to government publications and research assistance are available to the public and the University community when the library is open.

You can find both physical and electronic government publications in our collection by searching the Shafer library catalog. You can also use tools specifically designed to locate federal government information like Govinfo and GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys). Our Federal and State Government Resources page provides additional tools that can be used to find government information.

Shafer Library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)

Core U.S. Federal Publications

Census Data
New platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau replacing American Fact Finder.

These publications are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the U.S. Federal Government.

Assistance Listings
A full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments.
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Federal government information developed for K-12 students.
Budget of the United States Government
A collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online
Code of Federal Regulations (GPO)
Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Materials include proclamations, executive orders, speeches, statements regarding bill signings and vetoes, nominations and appointments, acts approved by the President, and press releases.
Congress.gov
Provides information about legislative activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public.
Congressional Directory
Includes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service and related content.
Congressional Record (Daily)
Official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
Encompasses the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation of the U.S. Constitution with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
Economic Indicators
Provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report that provides an overview of the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
FDsys
Provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.
Federal Register (Daily)
Each day Federal agencies publish numerous documents in the Federal Register, including proposed rules, final rules, public notices, and Presidential actions.
Govinfo
This is GPO's beta website that will eventually replace the Federal Digital System (FDsys) public website providing access to information from all three branches.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
This source contains quantitative data on topics related to American history, which include migration, health, crime, the Confederacy, and more.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
A guide to career information about hundreds of occupations.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events.
Social Security Handbook
Includes the provisions of the Social Security Act (the Act), regulations issued under the Act, and precedential case decisions (rulings).
U.S. Government Manual
Provides detailed information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.
United States Code
Codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States
United States Reports
Contain not just opinions, but the full text, from cover through index, of bound volumes 502 et seq., including all of the opinions, orders, and other materials issued for the Court's 1991 Term and subsequent years.
United States Statutes at Large
Permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress.
USA.gov
A subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online. A Spanish site is also available.

Chat with Us

Government Publications Contact

Pam Carles

Email Me

Contact:

126A Shafer Library

419-434-4612

Credit

This guide is based on the work done by Allen Reichert at Otterbein University.