Research Guides: Philosophy Research Guide: Web Resources & Archives

Archives of materials & Open Access journals

Perseus Digital Library
A digital collection that includes ancient Greek literature, history, art, and archaeology; and Latin and Renaissance literature. It includes a large database of images (coins, vases, sculpture), texts and translations, resources for textual studies, and English word searches of the texts.
Project Vox
Project Vox seeks to highlight philosophical works from marginalized individuals traditionally excluded from the philosophical canon. On the Project Vox team, we define marginalized voices as those not included in the European male-centric canon, which generally excludes people of color.
Philosophy Pages
A survey of the History of Western Philosophy.Detailed discussion of several major Philosophers. Summary treatment of the elementary principles of Logic. A generic Study Guide for students of philosophy. Links to other philosophy Sites on the Internet.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Detailed scholarly information on philosophers, key concepts, and schools of thought.
Archives of Scientific Philosophy
Selections from several manuscript collections that comprise the Archives of Scientific Philosophy.
KU Leuven Resources on Philosophers
Links to sites about famous philosophers. These links point to an organization or institution about a specific philosopher.
Some Texts from Early Modern Philosophy
A collection of full text primary sources in the area of Early Modern Philosophy.
Smithsonian Philosophical Collections
Images & Exhibitions related to philosophy
Library of Congress Philosophy & Religion Holdings
The Library of Congress collects systematically and worldwide in the areas of philosophy and religion. All time periods and all languages are within Scope, and are actively sought. The largest group of material is in the general collections, yet many valuable resources can also be found in the Rare Books, Manuscripts, Hebraic, Near East and Asian, Law, and Microform areas.

Professional Organizations

Promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.

American Philosophical Society

The American Philosophical Society promotes useful knowledge in the sciences and humanities through excellence in scholarly research, professional meetings, publications, library resources, and community outreach. This country's first learned society, the APS has played an important role in American cultural and intellectual life for over 250 years.

The Society for Philosophy and Psychology

The Society for Philosophy and Psychology is a professional organization in North America that promotes discussion and research at the intersection of philosophy, psychology and cognitive science.

Hipparchia of Maroneia

Detail from a wall painting depicting the Cynic philosopher Hipparchia of Maroneia. From the garden of the Villa Farnesina, Museo delle Terme, Rome