Use the Archives Holdings Manual to find items of interest and have them reserved for your use by submitting an email message or written request to a librarian. Click here to visit our contact information page.
Don't want to use the Holdings Manual or have general questions? You can also email us at library@findlay.edu.
Mission
Our mission is to support the teaching and research endeavors of faculty, students and community members by making materials available that relate to the history and culture of The University of Findlay.
Strategic Plan
Since 2022, the University Archives & Museum has been following a strategic plan that guides archival work and projects. It also acts as the driving force behind the development, preservation, sharing, and marketing of the University Archives. The official strategic planning document can be viewed below.
The University Archives contains university records dating back to the very beginnings of the institution, such as the original articles of incorporation certified in 1882, as well as many of the publications written over the years since the first classes met in 1886. In addition to records and publications, many other materials document the history of the university, such as photographs, memorabilia and institutional works of art.
The Archives Holdings Manual (left) presents an overview of the categories of materials included as well as listings of specific materials to provide a better understanding of the items that are available. Some materials are not included in the holdings manual and can be found in the above tabs at the top of this page.
Using the Archives
Please view the Society of American Archivists' Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research to learn how to properly identify, access, and conduct research in archives.
Location
Second Floor of Shafer Library, Room 219
Access
The Archives are open to faculty, students, staff and the public by appointment only. To arrange an appointment, please contact Brigitte Galauner at brigitte.galauner@findlay.edu.
NOTE: All archival materials are non-circulating and must remain in Room 219.
Canvas Modules
Check out our "Accessing Archives" workshop series in the Canvas Commons! There are several modules with resources for implementing archive materials in your courses. You can also check out recordings of the workshops on our YouTube channel here.
