Hey there, Oilers! Your Shafer librarians have been hard at work this Summer adding some new study spaces to the library, including updating the anatomy study room and the Chemistry tutoring space, and some new dividers to give you more privacy when working. Come check them out and let us know what you think!
It's 2 a.m. and you just need one more peer reviewed article to submit to your instructor but you aren't having any luck and it feels like you're doomed.
No need to panic, though, we've all been in your shoes (in my case it was 4am)!
Shafer library offers access to a wide assortment of databases but the first option you'll most likely find on the library website is our OneSearch search bar. This search bar is a research tool that provides accesses ALL of our databases, journals, newspapers, books, well you get the point. OneSearch is a great place to start looking, but you might need more narrow and specialized tools like JSTOR, the Findlay book catalog, or some of our very many academic databases which you can find in the Databases list.
Here are some useful tips to make the most out of our OneSearch, and you can even use these tips on most databases as well!
Utilize the Refine Results options on the search results page. These will help you narrow and focus your search, so you aren't sorting through too many pages of results.
Full Text Limiter
If you need more help, take a look at our Research Process Library guide or visit us here in Shafer! You'll have found everything you need in no time!
Wandering Stars by
Historical Fiction
Heartstopper #1: a Graphic Novel by
Happy Place by
Harriet and Wyn have been the perfect couple since they met in college—they go together like salt and pepper, honey and tea, lobster and rolls. Except, now—for reasons they’re still not discussing—they don’t.They broke up six months ago. And still haven’t told their best friends.Which is how they find themselves sharing the largest bedroom at the Maine cottage that has been their friend group’s yearly getaway for the last decade. Their annual respite from the world, where for one vibrant, blue week they leave behind their daily lives; have copious amounts of cheese, wine, and seafood; and soak up the salty coastal air with the people who understand them most.
My Heart Is a Chainsaw by
You won’t find a more hardcore eighties-slasher-film fan than high school senior Jade Daniels. And you won’t find a place less supportive of girls who wear torn T-shirts and too much eyeliner than Proofrock, nestled eight thousand feet up a mountain in Idaho, alongside Indian Lake, home to both Camp Blood – site of a massacre fifty years ago – and, as of this summer, Terra Nova, a second-home celebrity Camelot being carved out of a national forest.That’s not the only thing that’s getting carved up, though – this, Jade knows, is the start of a slasher. But what kind? Who’s wearing the mask? Jade’s got an encyclopedic recall of every horror movie on the shelf, but… will that help her survive? Can she get a final girl trained enough to stop all this from happening? Does she even want to?Isn’t a slasher exactly what her hometown deserves?
They Called Us Enemy by
Nimona by
Graphic Novel/Fantasy
Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren't the heroes everyone thinks they are. But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona's powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.
The Love Hypothesis by
No Country for Eight-Spot Butterflies by
In bracing poetry and compelling prose, Aguon weaves together stories from his childhood in the villages of Guam with searing political commentary about matters ranging from nuclear weapons to global warming. Undertaking the work of bearing witness, wrestling with the most pressing questions of the modern day, and reckoning with the challenge of truth-telling in an era of rampant obfuscation, he culls from his own life experiences—from losing his father to pancreatic cancer to working for Mother Teresa to an edifying chance encounter with Sherman Alexie—to illuminate a collective path out of the darkness.
A Court of Thorns and Roses by
Fantasy/Young Adult/Romance
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a terrifying creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not truly a beast, but one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled her world.At least, he’s not a beast all the time.As she adapts to her new home, her feelings for the faerie, Tamlin, transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But something is not right in the faerie lands. An ancient, wicked shadow is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it, or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
I'm Glad My Mom Died by
Fourth Wing by
Twenty-year-old Violet Sorrengail was supposed to enter the Scribe Quadrant, living a quiet life among books and history. Now, the commanding general—also known as her tough-as-talons mother—has ordered Violet to join the hundreds of candidates striving to become the elite of Navarre: dragon riders. But when you’re smaller than everyone else and your body is brittle, death is only a heartbeat away...because dragons don’t bond to “fragile” humans. They incinerate them.With fewer dragons willing to bond than cadets, most would kill Violet to better their own chances of success. The rest would kill her just for being her mother’s daughter—like Xaden Riorson, the most powerful and ruthless wingleader in the Riders Quadrant.She’ll need every edge her wits can give her just to see the next sunrise.
Birnam Wood by
Hey there Oilers and welcome back to campus! Shafer will be open next week from 8am to 5pm, and we will begin our normal fall hours the week of August 19th!
We'll be back to normal hours summer Monday, August 5th!
Hey there, Oilers! Need one last Summer read before the start of the semester? Lucky for you the Booker Prize longlist was just announced! For those of you that may be unfamiliar, the Booker Prize is a literary award conferred each year for the best single work of sustained fiction written in the English language, which was published in the United Kingdom and/or Ireland.
Take a look at the long list here!
Here are some previous nominees and winners currently available here at Shafer library! Stop by and grab one today!
The Testaments by
The Comfort of Strangers by
The Bone People by
In a tower on the New Zealand sea lives Kerewin Holmes: part Maori, part European, asexual and aromantic, an artist estranged from her art, a woman in exile from her family. One night her solitude is disrupted by a visitor—a speechless, mercurial boy named Simon, who tries to steal from her and then repays her with his most precious possession.
The Satanic Verses by
Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by
Shafer Library will only open 9amto 12pm next Tuesday, July 30th and will be closed all day Wednesday July 31st for carpet installation. We will be open our regular Summer hours the remainder of the week.
Join us in wishing a heartfelt goodbye to Brigitte Galauner, our current college Librarian for Business, Education, and Social Sciences. Brigitte has been an active part of campus since she began here in the Summer of 2022, helping with theater productions and in managing the University Archives, in addition to her instructional and research duties. She will be starting a new position at the University of Akron in the next few weeks. Be sure to stop by before her final day on Friday, July 12th to say goodbye!
Goodluck Brigitte!
Hey there, Oilers! Looking for some inspiration to get into reading this summer or just need some help deciding what to read as you relax on the beach?
Check out this Summer reading bingo card!
An easy to print pdf can be found here via Google Drive
Have you already read any books on this card? Are you doing any reading challenges this Summer? If so, what's a must read book you recommend?
This librarian just finished Gideon the Ninth by and if you're into wild scifi-fantasy adventures I highly recommend because really, space is the ultimate summer vacation destination~
