Research Methodologies: Accounting Resources

The Real Life Guide to Accounting Research goes behind the more official presentations and accounts of research methods to explore the lived experiences, joys and mistakes of a wide range of international researchers principally working in the fields of accounting and finance, but also in management, economics and other social sciences. The authors of the articles in this book address a wide range of issues and obstacles that they have confronted at various stages in their respective research careers. In reflecting on their personal experiences, they provide practical guidance on how to overcome the types of problems that typically confront academic researchers in their day-to-day work. Practical tips on how to undertake research and get findings published Research project management skills International and interdisciplinary perspectives.

Advances in Accounting Behavioral Research promotes research across all areas of accounting, incorporating theory from, and contributing knowledge to, the fields of applied psychology, sociology, management science, ethics and economics. Focusing on research that examines both individual and organizational behavior relative to accounting, the series provides a unique opportunity for the exchange of peer reviewed knowledge across all areas of accounting behavioral research and the development, discussion and expansion of theories from psychology, sociology and related disciplines. Advances in Accounting Behavioral Research encourages research that tests theory, explains theory, and develops theory that can be applied to better understand accounting domains. Accordingly, reviews of established theory and how that theory has and could be used in accounting are also strongly encouraged. Coverage includes, but is not restricted to: Individual judgement/decision making Group decision making Organizational behavior Inter-organizational relationships Technology integration Strategic management/organizational theory Theory development Theory review This volume includes chapters on emerging theory, methods, and applications towards behavioral research in accounting and audit.

Advances in Management Accounting publishes thoughtful, well-developed articles across a broad spectrum of current topics in the field of management accounting, using a variety of research methods including survey research, field tests, corporate case studies and modeling. Volume 25 exemplifies the broad scope of Advances in Management Accounting, examining a number of key areas in management accounting.

Accounting and Auditing Research, 10th Edition prepares students and early-stage practitioners to use well-established research solutions in a broad range of practical applications, from financial accounting and tax planning, to investigating fraud and auditing various business problems. Emphasizing real-world skills development, this fully-updated textbook covers the current tools, techniques, and best practices in applied professional research and analysis.

The authors provide comprehensive yet accessible coverage of the entire research process, explaining how to utilize major research databases and audit software packages in a clear and systematic manner. The tenth edition features carefully revised content designed to enhance effectiveness, increase readability, and strengthen learning and retention. The book’s classroom-proven pedagogy features expert tips for performing common research tasks, sidebar boxes that summarize and expand upon key concepts, and a variety of end-of-chapter exercises that reinforce the material and develop readers’ skills.

Now available in paperback! What is my theory? How do I choose a theory? Why and how should I employ a particular method for collecting the empirical data? These basic questions concern everyone involved in research. A research study can be a voyage of discovering or choice of theoretical perspective as well as gathering empirics or facts on a problem or situation. This book provides a good guideline as to why and how to choose a particular theory or method to study an organisational phenomenon such as accounting. All the chapters provide both retrospective and contemporary views by scholars in the field. Each chapter documents the latest developments and research in accounting and control systems and provides valuable insights into methodological perspectives in accounting research. This second edition has also introduced a number of new chapters covering strategy-management control as practice, grounded theory approach, institutional logic and rhetoric, social interaction theory, actor-network theory and practice theory. The book is primarily intended for research students and academic researchers. It can also be used for undergraduate Honours course as well as postgraduate accounting and business methodology courses. Research organisations and consulting firms in accounting and business fields may also find this book useful. The principal aims of this second edition are to update the chapters previously published in 2006 and to introduce new chapters documenting recent developments in accounting research. [Subject: Accounting, Research Studies, Accounting Research]