Library News & Events

Happy Halloween, Oiler Nation! Hope your day is filled with frights and too many sugary sweets!

Due to Halloween, this week's #FlashbackFriday is considered a bonus! Are you dressing up for any Halloween events this year? Even when it wasn't Halloween, students at Findlay College had a habit of dressing up for other occasions (and not in ways you'd expect!).

The two photos below are of campus groups: one from the 1920s, and the other from a similar time period but unspecified. The group members are dressed in clothing that would be considered "unique" for attending class. The meaning behind the outfits is unknown in both photos, but it demonstrates how students were not afraid to wear costumes! It is possible that the students were dressed for a special event, party, or yearbook photo.

These outfits are certainly different from the typical "1920s" costumes you see on Halloween! Maybe the next time you plan to dress up like the 1920s, use these photos as a reference!

Postcard, Findlay College (1920s)

This photograph is on a postcard that could be sent as regular mail. The costumes resemble clown/circus outfits from the 1920s and 1930s (click here and fast forward to 4:20 to see a sample for reference).

Photograph on Findlay College Campus (circa 1920s-1930s)

This photo features costumes resembling Greek and Roman fashion. It is possible that these students were part of a literary society on campus.

This is a reminder to finalize and SHARE your stories from "The Magic of Writing" event on Instagram this week! All you have to do is upload any text and photos as a regular post (do not post it on your Instagram story), tag the UF Writing Center and use the hashtag #UFwritingday22. We need you to tag us and use the hashtag so we can find your story! We will be selecting a winner later this week.

The event also made it to The Pulse! Check it out here.

Thank you to everyone who participated in the event last week. We hope you enjoyed it, and we hope to bring back the event next year!

We are highlighting the musical side of campus in this week's Flashback Friday! Most music history related to the University of Findlay dates back to the 1940s, when John Van Nice became a new member of the faculty in 1947. He directed the Findlay College Choir (now the Concert-Chorale) and wrote the university's alma mater hymn. The choir music was recorded on vinyl so that they may by heard by students, faculty, staff, and members of the community. For those unfamiliar with vinyl records, they require a special player to play and contain music on both sides (meaning you need to flip the record over to hear the second half of the track). Check out some of the photos below to see what was recorded! The records include songs that are still performed by our campus music groups today.

CLICK HERE to listen to a recent rendition of UF's fight song, performed by the marching band.

Click here for official lyrics for the fight song and alma mater.

Record Cover, Campus Music by the Findlay College Band and Choir (1961)

The record cover features Old Main on the front and the song listings on the back. It includes information about the music composers: John Van Nice (Findlay Alma Mater Hymn) and Louis Chenette (Fight, Findlay Oilers). Louis Chenette was the director of the college band and an expert on band organization and administration. The track list includes the following songs:

Side One

1. "The Creation" by Willy Richter
2. "Sing and Rejoice" by Will James
3. "Beside Thy Cradle Here I Stand" by J. S. Bach-O.C.C.
4. "The Lord's Prayer" by Leroy Robertson
5. "Kum Ba Yah" (Come By Here) by Harm. Bliss Wiant
6. "Nola" by Felix Arndt and Clay Warnick
7. "Findlay Alma Mater Hymn" by John R. Van Nice

Side Two

1. "Brass Aflame" by John Cacavas
2. "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring" by Johann Sebastian Bach (transcribed by Erik Leidzen)
3. "Kiddie Ballet" by Ralph Hermann
4. "Festival Music" by Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov
5. "Fight, Findlay Oilers" by Louis Chenette

Vinyl Record, Campus Music by the Findlay College Band and Choir

Vinyl record from Campus Music by the Findlay College Band and Choir.

Record Cover, The Findlay College A Cappella Choir (1970)

This record contains music from the 1970 Findlay College a cappella choir. It is still sealed in the wrapping, so it has never been opened! The track list includes the following:

Side One

1. "Night Divine" by Arcadelt
2. "O Magnum Mysterium" by Victoria-Grayson
3. "There Shall a Star Come" by Mendelssohn
4. "The White Dove" by Arr. Brahms
5. "Christmas Day (Fantasy)" by Holst

Side Two

1. "Hodie Christus Natus Est" by Willan
2. "O Bone Jesu" by Palestrina-Grayson
3. "The Lord is Risen Today" by Billings-Clokey
4. "Babylon is Fallen" by Arr. Malin
5. "Swing Low" Arr. R. Wagner
6. "Amen" by Arr. Hairston
7. "Cotton Fields" by Ledbetter-Wheeler
8. "Sophomoric Philosophy" by Dvorak

Join the CTE, Shafer library, and the UF Writing Center in celebrating the National Day on Writing by creating your own spooky stories and sharing them on Instagram!

During this event, you will visit six locations on campus that correspond to familiar creepy settings: A haunted theater, a witches house, an asylum, a wizard’s lair, a wooded cemetery, and an abandoned well. You can work alone or in groups to write a six-part story, beginning at the theater (Ritz Auditorium in Old Main) to receive a starting prompt, and then choose your own path through your story by determining which location to go to next, and creating the next part of the story that happens at that location.

It's a 'Choose your own adventure' influenced by the settings you visit and what you find there!To fully participate, take photos, add vivid descriptions detailing your plot, and tag them with #ufwritingday22 on Instagram and you and your group may win a  spooky prize!

Head on over to our Instagram to follow along with the fun!The event will take place from 11am-5pm on Thursday, October 20th & Friday, October 21st 2022

Please email us at libary@findlay.edu for more information!
 

Not all research projects rely solely on scholarly journals or hefty book chapters, some require news resources which you can find in this weeks spotlight database: Access World News!

Easy access to primary sources

Provides web-based access to more than 8,000 titles from over 200 countries around the world and offers local, regional, national, international and global perspectives.  Access World News is updated daily to keep students informed of current issues and events, and it includes deep archives that provide background information on important topics, enabling students to trace an issue or event over a period of time.

Useful for assignments in all subject areas

Students can use Access World News to search all sources by keyword, browse any title by date and read their local newspaper. In addition, students studying a particular country can find articles published within and outside that country. They can also easily find different perspectives to support their position by reviewing articles from various geographic areas and sources by using the Source Location search function. It also provides special reports, hot topics (not the store), and daily headlines to give you inspiration.

Quick & easy searching

Along with the standard database search features, Access World News offers a map-based interface, through which users can select and search a single source, a group of titles across a region or all titles available through their school's collection. The map also features direct links to specific titles or areas (such as Ohio or a specific country), letting users access them quickly and easily. You can also add any articles you find to a session folder to quickly export or save them for use later.

Accessing Access World News
Access World News is available via the Shafer Library website on our Databases and Research Guide page and can instantly be accessed at Newsbank.com while on campus. Off campus access will require you to log in with UFNet username and password.

Access World News provides a helpful tutorial on using their database as well.

Access World News Recap:

Strengths:

• Large pool of news resources to pull from
• User-friendly interface

Weaknesses:

• Large pool of resources can be daunting if you have a broad topic

Recommended for: Undergraduates, Graduates, Faculty

Information courtesy of Access world news website

We hope you have your "sea legs" for this week's Flashback Friday! While searching for "buried treasure" in the depths of the University Archives, we found a scaled replica of Henry Hudson's ship De Halve Maen (Dutch for The Half Moon). The ship replica was built to scale by Harry Clifford Fox, president of Findlay College from 1947 to 1959. The exact purpose of building this replica is unknown. However, other replicas of the ship have been built for display at various museums and events (one in 1909, and one in 1989). Some replicas have perished since their construction, so having a replica built by one of our own is quite a treasure! Who knows what other treasures might be lurking in the University Archives?

If you're interested in learning more about Henry Hudson and The Half Moon, click here to visit the 2003 issue of Wise Guide. Wise Guide is a web magazine by the Library of Congress that highlights fascinating facts from history.

The Half Moon Ship Replica

This is a scaled replica of The Half Moon, a ship used for Henry Hudson's expeditions in the early 17th century.

Replica Signage

The signage gives credit to the replica's creator, Harry Clifford Fox. If you're interested in learning more about President Fox, click here.

In celebration of homecoming weekend, we want to share that our homecoming exhibit is now live! During our operating hours, stop by Shafer Library to view our new display located in the main lobby. Can't make it in person? You can check out our virtual display page here. It has everything from our physical exhibit, with photographs included! The virtual display is available 24/7 from our University Archives page.

This year's theme celebrates the institution's 140 years, as well as the 50th anniversary of the class of 1972. It features artifacts that date back to the founding of Findlay College (1882) and highlights the university's rich history. Some of the items are one of a kind, so they are only put on display during certain times of the year. We hope that you can take the time to see us this week!