Welcome to our first installment of a new biweekly blog series, "Flashback Friday," where we bring the University Archives to you! Every other week, we will highlight a cool artifact from the University Archives and write about it here. We hope that you will join us to learn more about the college's rich history!
In memory of Dr. Richard C. Kern, professor emeritus of the University of Findlay, we would like to showcase one of his works that documents the history of the institution. He was the author of Findlay College: The First Hundred Years among other publications. Published in 1984, the book contains a detailed history of Findlay College, from its founding in 1882 until its centennial in 1982. For those looking for primary and secondary source material on the college's history, this is a great book to check out. The University Archives aims to preserve the history of the institution, and this book is a wonderful compilation of the college's first 100 years. Check out the photos below for more details!
If you are interested in more information on Dr. Kern's book, or if you would like to borrow a copy, you can view it in our catalog here. For more information on Dr. Richard Kern, visit his official memorial page here.
Book Cover of Findlay College: The First Hundred Years
The front cover of Dr. Kern's book features architect M. Rumbaugh's drawing of Findlay College from 1882. Rumbaugh's plans were approved by the Board of Trustees in 1882, and construction was completed in 1886.
Inside Cover (Autographed Page)
This copy of the book is signed by the author, Dr. Richard C. Kern. The inscription reads: "Regards, Dick Kern" April 6, 1984.
Table of Contents
The table of contents provide an overview of what the book covers. It contains a timeline of the college's history, plus lists of significant faculty and staff members.
Dr. Richard C. Kern Display, University Archives
Materials related to Dr. Kern are stored on the second floor of Shafer Library, and are placed on a display within the archives.