English Research Guide: Online Resources

A collection of links to online resources about Chaucer
for both students and teachers, vetted by scholars

The English collection consists of twentieth century literature, Shakespeare and Renaissance writers, Romantics and Victorians, access to audio recordings of poetry and interpretation of poems, evolution of the English language decade by decade, and a disparate collection of over 400 texts including the English dictionary, cookbooks, shopping lists and song lyrics

Contains the digital facsimile of the Bodleian first folio of Shakespeare's plays.

The archive provides the digital manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Shelley, William Goodwin and Mary Wollstonecra

A hypermedia archive sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the University of Rochester, and the Scholarly Editions and Translations Division of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

This is a digital collection of approximately 52 published works by 19th century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives, and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920.

A repository for the study of resources related to Emily Dickinson. Includes writings by the Dickinson family, teaching with the archives, responses to Dickinson's writings, and critical resources.

Includes audio and video lectures, short talks, ebooks and etexts that are downloadable and in the public domain or licensed for free educational use. The site was developed by the faculty of English Language and Literature at Oxford University.

Oxford University provides lectures delivered by professors under a Creative Commons license free for reuse, remixing and redistribution in education worldwide.

NaNoWriMo is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that provides tools, structure, community, and encouragement to help people find their voices, achieve creative goals, and build new worlds — on and off the page.

"Every Monday The Library of America features a new Story of the Week. It could be anything: a short work of fiction, a character sketch, an essay, a journalist’s dispatch, a poem. What is certain is that it will be memorable, because every story is from one of the hundreds of classic works of American literature published by The Library of America."