Library News & Events

Hey there, Oilers! Welcome back to a new academic year AND a new batch of Flashback Fridays! Do you ever not know what to watch despite all the various streaming services available? The days of simply turning on a t.v. and catching a re-run of an old favorite might be mostly behind us, but the UF Archive has plenty of 're-runs" of old Findlay theater productions, choir recordings, and even old UF T.V. Presents episodes stashed away!

Here we see vhs tapes of UF T.V. going back to 1991. Don't forget to check out there new videos on the Pulse site!

We also have recordings of theater productions, such as Man of La Mancha and Once upon a Mattress, seen below.

On this shelf we also see concert recordings of Christmas Concerts, Wind Ensembles, and the University choir concerts. These are stored on sound recording tapes, such as cassettes. The Archive has previously uploaded music by the campus band on our Library Youtube if you want to take a look!

If you're interested in any of these items, no need to fear about obsolete formats. We have plenty of VHS, and cassette tape players that you can use to take a look.

Have any ideas for what you'd like to see in future Flashback Friday posts? Let us know in the comments!

Hey there, Oilers! Shafer Library will be closed in observance of Labor day from Saturday August 30 to Monday September 1. We will be back to our normal hours next Tuesday! 

Welcome back, Oilers and welcome new students!

Shafer Library is back to our normal operating hours:

​Monday - Thursday    7:45 am - 10:00 pm
​Friday    7:45 am - 5:00 pm
​Saturday    1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Sunday   2:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Also just a reminder of some changes to our online resources: OneSearch is new and updated, so please see our announcement here for more information. Our EBSCO databases have also been updated, so check out what's new here.

Book borrowing is also back up and running, however, borrowing from SearchOhio is still down for upgrades until October.

Don't forget to schedule any instruction requests or book an appointment with one of our librarians if you'd like a more detailed overview of these changes.

Have a great semester!

Hey there, Oilers! Our EBSCO databases have recently been updated! Now, when you use an EBSCO database such as Academic Search Complete or CINAHL Complete ( among many others we have access here at UF), you'll be noticing some differences! Some things to note:

• The URLs will not change and you can access the databases as usual!
• You will still be able to save searches, and be able to access your folders through the new Projects feature
• Search filters can now be saved and applied to new searches
• The new interface has better accessibility and provides over 100 languages you can use with full-text
• This update provides increased personalization, a more user-friendly interface with an updated filter panel, and easier to access full-text options

EBSCO will be rolling out more updates this year, so stay tuned!

For more information, please feel free to contact us or check out this helpful guide or FAQ page!

Hey there, Oilers! Happy Flashback Friday AND summer break! Did you know that the University Archive actually houses some Mazza Museum history as well? Take a look at some of the wonderful Mazza Collection yearly calendars, going back to 1995 (at least in what we have!). Each calendar features art from classic children's books and artists featured in the Mazza collection, along with some information on the artwork and the artists featured, so if you've missed out on previous calendars available for sale at the Mazza gift shop, feel free to stop by and take a look at some of the ones we've preserved!

Hey there, Oilers! Here are Shafer Library's hours for the summer starting May 30th. From May 12-29th, we will be open Monday-Friday 9am to 4pm and closed Saturday and Sunday. Have a fun Summer and congratulations to the class of 2025!!!