Welcome to Shafer 219!
Archives Holdings Manual
The Holdings Manual lists the specific materials that can be found in Archives. Last updated in April 2014.
Draft Archives Policy
The final policy is still under development. Please let us know if you have any questions or comments.
American Archives Month
The Society of Ohio Archivists has decided to feature Farm Security Administration photographs for its Archives Month poster. A copy can be seen in one of the display cases outside Shafer 219. For more details on the Ohio program see: http://www.ohioarchivists.org/archives_month/
Additional information can be found on the Society of American Archivists web site: http://www2.archivists.org/initiatives/american-archives-month
For some local notes from the Bicentennial Commemorative Edition of The Courier, see: http://www.findlay200plus.com/2012/06/07/1940/
Overview of Archives
The mission of Archives is to support the teaching and research endeavors of the faculty, students and community by making materials available which relate to the history and culture of The University of Findlay.
The collection contains university records dating back to the very beginnings of the institution, such as the orignal articles of incorporation certified in 1882, and many of the publications created here over the years since the first classes met in 1886.
In addition to records and publications, many other types of materials from the history of the university can be found such as photographs, memorabilia and institutional works of art.
The Archives Holdings Manual presents an overview of the categories of materials included as well as listings of specific materials to provide a better understanding of the items available.
Location and Access
The University of Findlay Archives is located on the second floor of Shafer Library, in Room 219.
Archives is open to faculty, students, staff and the public for limited hours which vary by semester. At other times it is available by appointment only; to arrange an appointment, please contact Robert Schirmer, University Archivist, at 419-434-4767 or e-mail email@example.com.
Fall 2014 hours:
Monday: 10 am - 3 pm
Tuesday: 10 am - 3 pm
Wednesday: 10 am - 3 pm
Thursday: 10 am - 3 pm
Friday: By appointment
Effective August 25 - December 11, 2014 (for exceptions, see Shafer Library schedule)
Please be aware when scheduling an appointment that all materials are non-circulating and must remain within Room 219.
Specific procedures are outlined in the Archives Policy.